The Blood Spilt

A priest is found dead, mutilated beyond recognition and suspended from the organ in her church. The priest, Mildred Nilsson, was a feminist activist who galvanized a previously dormant small town outside of Kiruna in northern Sweden. Mildred’s work polarized the community: her enthusiastic supporters on one hand and those who loathed her on the other. Mildred had many enemies, but who had reason enough to kill her?

Kiruna-born lawyer Rebecka Martinsson has not dealt properly with the trauma she went through at the end of the previous book, Sun Storm. But when the law firm she works for has a project in Kiruna, she decides to come along. Once there, Rebecka is drawn to the woods, to the crisp air, to stay. But there is no calm homecoming in store for her this time either. Rebecka becomes entangled in the intrigues of the community and finds herself face to face with Mildred Nilsson’s wild-eyed murderer…

The Blood Spilt is the dramatic follow-up to Åsa Larsson’s immensely popular debut, Sun Storm. Rebecka Martinsson returns in a more vulnerable incarnation in this riveting thriller which was awarded Best Swedish Crime Novel of 2004 by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy. And police inspector Anna-Mella, with a baby son on her hip and characteristic resolve in her gaze, will save Rebecka’s life a second time…

Set in a glittering northern landscape, The Blood Spillt is a relentlessly suspenseful novel that exhibits Åsa Larsson’s unique combination of flawless plotting and psychological insight. It was named Best Swedish Crime Novel in 2004 by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy.

“Among all the more or less successful crime novels now flooding the market, Åsa Larsson’s book seems like the brilliant exception. It is thrilling, compelling, and clear with a well conceived structure and captivating language.”
Arvika Nyheter (SE)

“A virtuoso mood piece.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review (US)

“Riveting…. Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will be rewarded.”
Publishers Weekly (US)

“An evocative novel with an entirely original and spot-on tone.”
Göteborgs-Posten (SE)

Åsa Larsson is one of Scandinavia’s most loved writers whose work has been translated into over twenty languages. Sun Storm, her first crime novel about the fragile yet fierce heroine Rebecka Martinsson, was published in 2003 and was named Best Debut by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy and was shortlisted for the Duncan Lawrie International Dagger Award.

Learn more about Åsa Larsson