Skip to content

Åsa Larsson (1966) is one of Scandinavia’s most loved writers. Sun Storm, her first crime novel about the fragile yet fierce Rebecka Martinsson, was published in 2003 and was named Best Debut by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy and was shortlisted for the Duncan Lawrie International Dagger Award.

Larsson has written six books in her series featuring Rebecka Martinsson. The Blood Spilt (2004) and The Second Deadly Sin (2012) were both named Best Swedish Crime Novel of the Year by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy. Sun Storm (2003) and Until Thy Wrath Be Past (2008) were both on the shortlist for the same award. The Second Deadly Sin was also nominated for the 2013 Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel.

The sixth and final book in the Rebecka Martinsson series, The Sins of Our Fathers, was published in September, 2021.

Åsa Larsson is also one of the writers behind the immensely popular middle grade series PAX.

Åsa Larsson was raised in Kiruna, Sweden’s northernmost city situated 145 kilometers above the Arctic Circle. Just like the heroine of her novels, Larsson worked as a tax lawyer before turning to writing.

Åsa Larsson’s books for both adults and young readers have been translated into over twenty languages.

Photo by © Orlando G Boström lores hemsida

Reviews

“An intriguing and ambiguous ending is the perfect finish for a story in which characters are living lives that are real, complicated, challenging, and raw. Highly recommended for readers who like their fiction to challenge them, make them think, and don’t mind the story staying with them way after the book itself has gone.”
Eurocrime (UK)

“A real page-turner with steadily rising suspense the closer you get to the gruesome finale.”
Svenska Dagbladet (SE)

“Larsson immediately qualifies into the Swedish elite.”
Expressen (SE)

“Among all the more or less successful crime novels now flooding the market, Åsa Larsson’s book seems like the brilliant exception. It is thrilling, compelling, and clear with a well conceived structure and captivating language.”
Arvika Nyheter (SE)

“An evocative novel with an entirely original and spot-on tone.”
Göteborgs-Posten (SE)

“A virtuoso mood piece.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review (US)

“Riveting […] Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will be rewarded.”
Publishers Weekly (US)

“A brilliant narrative that ties together immoral capitalism in Africa with the impoverishment of the sparsely populated Swedish countryside. […] It is impressively spot-on.”
Södermanlands Nyheter (SE)

“Superb, gut-wrenching”
Publishers Weekly (USA)

“Crime novels are printed in mass editions. And I’m happy that it is this particular book, with its many voices and perspectives and its theme of globalization, that the world’s readers will devour now.”
Svenska Dagbladet (SE)

“Åsa Larsson once again shows that she is a skillful writer of Swedish desolation. No one can reignite language the way she can. […] Åsa Larsson’s great strength is in what is not said; when she places a simple detail so clearly in the foreground that you can’t miss the darkness hiding behind.”
Dagens Nyheter (SE)

“Essential reading for all Scandinavian crime fans.”
Booklist (US)

“The third book in her Rebecka Martinsson series is one of the most gripping. […] Åsa Larsson’s genius is in telling the story from multiple viewpoints, so cleverly that you can’t see the dots connecting until they hit you right in the face at the end.”
The Times (UK)

“Larsson’s best book so far. The supernatural elements are worked seamlessly into a complex and engaging mystery, resulting in a thoroughly compelling reading experience.”
Booklist, Starred Review (US)

“The real allure of Larsson’s meticulously crafted narrative lies in her unflinching dissection of human needs and desires.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review (US)

“Larsson’s laid-back style makes her unflinching probing of the icy depths of the human heart all the more chilling.”
The Telegraph (UK)

“Language that is by turn simple and clear, and by turn poetically brilliant.”
Norrländska Socialdemokraten (SE)

“Critics used to be able to dismiss crime fiction with a few condescending remarks about language and psychology. Soon they won’t be able to do that anymore. Åsa Larsson’s book, for example, stands firmly on the three most important tenets: style, human understanding, and plot.”
Svenska Dagbladet (SE)

“Among the current batch of Nordic writers, the new Larsson is one to be followed with the most minute attention.”
The Independent (UK)

“Larsson has us by the throat from her first paragraph…Electric.”
The Independent (UK)

“A terrific novel about greed, isolation and the deep human need for companionship.”
The Sunday Times (UK)

“Larsson excels at creating engaging, complex characters whose interactions and development provide as much forward momentum as the search for the killer.”
Publishers Weekly (US)

“The opening scene is magnificent.”
Svenska Dagbladet (SE)

“A terrific novel about greed, isolation, and the deep human need for companionship.”
The Sunday Times (UK)

“Asa Larsson has no need of horrendous detail, or ritual killings, nor indeed of a single tattoo. She is simply a very good writer. There is no doubt in my mind who is ‘the other Larsson’.”
The Irish Independent (UK)

“It is not the plots that make you love Åsa Larsson’s crime novels. […] Instead, it is the environment, the people, the language, and the underlying warmth.”
Dagens Nyheter (SE)

“Larsson is a master of horror, of character portraits, of local knowledge, and of authentic descriptions of place.”
Verdens Gang (NO)

“Ingenious to the last sentence. This thriller is highly literary – and so much better than anything other Scandinavian bestselling authors have done.”
Brigitte (DE)

“No other Swedish crime writer has been lauded to the extent Åsa has; her stories are something out of the ordinary. […] [The] language roars like a river, it is as if the language itself shows how everything has changed and is coming together: then and now, old battles and new crimes, family ties, and people’s dependency upon one another.”
Dagens Nyheter (SE)

“[Åsa Larsson’s] suspense novels are in a league of their own. In part due to the language, but also because they include several warm portrayals of people; people shaped by harsh social climates as well as severe weather. […] The Sins of Our Fathers holds multitudes, high pace, and human tragedy galore, extreme Laestadians as well as bloody knock-out fights. But also, dizzying ski trips, frolicking dogs, and touching elderly romance. […] A grandiose finale.”
Arbetarbladet (SE)

“[This] is a multifaceted, utterly brilliant crime novel. It is also a read that creates an insatiable urge to move north; Åsa writes about a landscape that she loves, a Norrbotten with mountains so beautiful they seem to be out of this world, and sparkling rivers that rush and roar as they have done since ancient times.”
Femina (SE)

“It has been nine years, and Åsa Larsson is still in impeccable shape. The Sins of Our Fathers is a proper brick of a book that holds her finely tuned ability to capture the people, the environment around Kiruna, her way of building suspense in perfect harmony with said people and environment, and above all her expertise in engaging the reader in all of it.”
Norra Skåne (SE)

“‘When Ragnhild Pekkari decided to die, life became a little easier to live’, is the first sentence in this 550-page thick novel. Wow, without any other comparison it’s basically as good as the start of Kafka’s The Trial. […] Åsa Larsson’s writing is propulsive, and her language is among the very best in the Swedish suspense genre. She has the ability to give her characters life and make them feel authentic and far from one-sided, be it villain or police, because they ‘have all been little once.’”
Norrländska Socialdemokraten (SE)

“A worthy finale for a defiant character.”
Falköpings Tidning (SE)

Books

Series

The Rebecka Martinsson Series Learn More

Adaptation

Skärmavbild 2021-09-29 kl. 15.58.28

Åsa Larsson’s Rebecka Martinsson Series

Two seasons of the Rebecka Martinsson series, based on Åsa Larsson’s bestselling books, have aired on TV4.

Read More

Press Images

Photo by © Orlando G Boström lores hemsida
O174.1. Photo by Orlando Boström
0045, Åsa Larsson Photo by Orlando Boström
0055, Åsa Larsson Photo by Orlando Boström
0248, Åsa Larsson Photo by Orlando Boström
0248, Åsa Larsson Photo by Orlando Boström
©Orlando.G.Bostrom_ÅsaLarsson_author_writer_portrait Photo by Orlando Boström
©Orlando.G.Bostrom_ÅsaLarsson_author_writer_portrait Photo by Orlando Boström
©Orlando.G.Bostrom_ÅsaLarsson_author_writer_portrait Photo by Orlando Boström
©Orlando.G.Bostrom_ÅsaLarsson_author_writer_portrait Photo by Orlando Boström
©Orlando.G.Bostrom_ÅsaLarsson_author_writer_portrait Photo by Orlando Boström

Awards

2013 – Shortlisted for the Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel for The Second Deadly Sin
2012 – Swedish Bible Society’s Bible Prize
2012 – Best Swedish Crime Novel of the Year for The Second Deadly Sin
2008 – Shortlisted for Best Swedish Crime Novel of the Year for Until Thy Wrath Be Past
2007 – Shortlisted for the Duncan Lawrie International Dagger Award
2006 – Vision’s Author of the Year Award for The Black Path
2004 – Best Swedish Crime Novel of the Year for The Blood Spilt
2003 – Shortlisted for Best Swedish Crime Novel of the Year for Sun Storm
2003 – Best Swedish Crime Debut for Sun Storm

Ahlander Agency is a leading literary agency that represents Scandinavian writers at home and in the world.

Contact Us
Skip to navigation